Soul Food Sunday’s: Guarding the Gates

Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it. Proverbs 4:23 NIV

A few days ago I wrote a post that I’m shocked I even wrote about. If you missed it here it is…

No Sex In This Part of the City

After hitting the publish button I sat back and re-read the post over twenty times thinking to myself did I really just share this part of me with the unknown world. Did I really just talk about such an intimate detail of my life with the public domain? Well too late now, it’s already out there and I honestly have no regrets.

I don’t know who I’m talking to out there but I do know that there is someone out there in this world who relates and completely understands me, even through a computer screen. Understand that despite all the knowledge and wisdom that I’ve shared through my previous posts I am a flawed human being who had to walk through the fire in order to come out refined. And that is why I respect realness, I respect transparency. I am who I am today because I eventually had to learn how not to fit in with society. I had to learn how to conform to a new way of life that is only led by God and designed with his intricate hands.

And when you are given something so precious, so valuable that was formed by the hands of the creator it is your job to guard it with your heart, above all else. But unfortunately I didn’t do that from the beginning, I left the gates wide open and was surprised when I saw the enemy resting at my doorstep. How could I be upset when it was me who let him in, for too long I did myself a disservice by blaming others for all my wrong doings and robbed myself of the opportunity to learn from what truly were my own mistakes. After countless run-ins with destruction I finally learned to protect myself, to guard myself. Not only for my sake but for the sake of love and respect. I am who I am today because I finally learned how to guard the gates.

Be aware of the things that linger around you, in your space, in your atmosphere. There are people who are waiting for you to let your guard down; they are waiting for you to pull the linen over your eyes for you to lose sight. Some of those people only want to be around you to suck you dry, their motives are to take from you whatever it is you have to offer, and if they’re good at their manipulation you will find yourself giving away a piece of your soul. If they’re not trying to suck you dry they will begin to plant seeds of destruction, their motives are to see you fail, to tell you what it is that you can’t do, to have you believing in their design rather than your own. They see the force and see they see your drive; they don’t like it and what better way to kill someone’s passion by using one of the most powerful weapons we hold, the power of the tongue.

If there is one thing you can do for yourself today, guard your heart, above all else, for everything you do flows from it.

 

 I told y’all I’m just here chillen, sippin on some tea while listening to some good ‘ol Lauryn Hill (waiting patiently for the”one”)

signature-blog

Leave a Reply

