Soul Food Sunday’s: To Read, Or Not to Read

It’s Sunday, time to be inspired and refueled for Monday.

Out of all the things in the world, what other way can one be inspired without the need to read books!

So it’s time for me to expose the inner nerd in me. I always enjoy reading a decent novel where every time I turn the page I am easily enticed and aroused from the brilliancy of how words can touch my soul. My five senses tingle every time I get the chance to read a line full of poetic language and I can feel the warm words dance against my skin. My brain becomes fully wired and my dopamine levels reach ecstasy every time I devour a page of brilliant literature. There’s nothing better than being able to turn a page and have your pen in hand, ready to underline and highlight every anecdote and phrase that you know will apply abundance to your life. I make love to my books, nobody can separate the love we have for another… nobody.

So I’m done giving you creep talk about how much I love to read a decent novel. But if you couldn’t tell from my above mentioned moment of passion, I simply love a good book, so I figured why not share a few books that will add abundance to your life. It’s still early 2014, so if you didn’t add read more to your list of New Year’s resolutions, now is the time.

Understand that my desk normally isn’t this messy, actually it usually is. I just don’t care to make it look perfect to please anyone. These few books that I keep on my dresser are a form of life support for me right now. I eat, sleep and breathe every aspect of these books, and I’m being theatrical here but whatever, you get the point. The books I plan on challenging you to read here are not your average simple-minded books. They do not talk about sex and lust, sex and lust or sex and lust – have I made myself clear? These books will challenge you, they will make you dig deeper into your psyche and have you exploring so many parts of you that you didn’t even know existed. That’s the pleasure of reading.

Let me start off with being biased. This man, Irvin Yalom is one of my favorite authors. He is a well-known Psychotherapist and is also well-known as the God-father of group psychotherapy. His literature is brilliant and if you are a fan of philosophy you will most likely enjoy anything he writes about.. but you will probably consider this one your favorite. The Schopenhauer Cure.

schop bookUnfortunately I cannot share with you what the premise of this book is about because since I have no composure over my use of words I will most likely end up giving away every important element of this book. So simple just go read it. I will however, share from this book along with the other books that I have chosen a few exerts that are worthy of adding value to one’s life.

Though everyone agrees that life is one goddamned loss after another, few know that one of the most aggravating losses, awaiting us in later decades is that of a good night’s sleep.

When, at the end of their lives, most men look back they will find that they have lived throughout ad interim.
They will be surprised to see that the very thing they allowed to slip away by unappreciated and unejoyed was just their life. And so a man, having been duped by hope, dances into the arms of death.
Schopenhauer

When Nietzsche Wept. And of course book two will also be written by my favorite Arthur.

If you’re looking for a book that will satisfy your minds appetite for sexual and lusty content, take a stab at this.

His fear was raw and terrible until the day he discovered that lust soothes fear. Therefore, he welcomed lust into his mind, and lust, a ruthless competitor, soon crowded out all other thoughts. But lust does not think; it craves, it recollects… Soon his whole being was consumed with such pettiness. The great boulevards of his mind that were built for noble ideas became clogged with trash.
When Nietzsche Wept

The Drama of the Gifted Child

Have you ever wondered to yourself, why do you do the things you do, think the way you think, live the way you live or even grow with rage from the most irrational things? Well, guess where this all started… childhood. Yes, another book that I recommend for anyone training to be a clinician. But this book isn’t limited for the future therapists of the world, I think if everyone read this book you would gain a deeper view of your psyche and you will be able to explore your unconscious realm and discover a new part of yourself. If you’re searching for greater understanding of the self, then you can’t go wrong with reading this book. I actually double dare you to read this, you owe it to yourself.

In order to become whole, we must try in process, to discover our own personal truth, a truth that may cause pain before giving us a new sphere of freedom. If we choose instead to content ourselves with intellectual “wisdom” we will remain in the sphere of illusion and self-deception.

 
Admiration is not the same thing as love. It is only a substitute for gratification of the primary needs for respect, understanding, and being taken seriously-needs that have remained unconscious since early childhood. 

Alice Miller

This next book is about crazy faith. That’s probably why it’s titled Crazy LoveThis book takes you on a journey of exploring Christianity and daring you to draw closer to God. I don’t know about you, but I love a great book that challenges me to enhance my faith. I also love this book because it’s straight up real talk. There’s no beating around the bush talk here, Francis Chan has been keeping it real since chapter one and if this book offends you in any way, you should probably take a greater look at why your soul is easily upset by the truth. #JustSayin

God is the only being who is good, and the standards are set by Him. Because God hates sin, He has to punish those guilty of sin. Maybe that’s not an appealing standard. But to put it bluntly, when you get your own universe, you can make your own standards. When we disagree, let’s not assume it’s His reasoning that needs correction.

Francis Chan

Now a few months ago when I made my very first post I referred to this book a hidden gem. A field Guide to Getting Lost is a book that will make you want to pack your stuff up, hit the road and never look back. Now I admit, I didn’t read this book from cover to cover, life is short, who has time to read a book they don’t feel the need to finish. I read deep into the middle of this book and felt well fed. I was satisfied with what I gained from this wonderful book and I am sure you will to… and if you have a heart for poetry and artistic vision, this book will awaken every sleeping bone in your body.

I guarantee that after you get your hands on all five of these books you will want to travel to distant spaces, rid yourself of your childhood catastrophes and develop insight into your life, your desires, and the many things that you crave.

There’s so much to get lost in, in this world!

Leave a Reply

