Soul Food Sunday’s: The Fast

It’s Sunday.

Today is bittersweet.

Sunday’s are a day of rest for some and a day full of praise, worship and thanksgiving for people like me. Sunday is also a day of dread for some because we unfortunately have a day of the week called Monday. I get it, Monday’s suck, but lets live in the moment, be still and soak in what Sunday has to offer.

So as of today, I’ll be kicking off Soul Food Sunday’s and sharing everything that is good for the soul.

For starters, there’s nothing better than kicking off Sunday in the house of the Lord. Hillsong NYC is where you can find me and where you can find yourself if you’re looking for a church to call home.

church

Yes, If you’re in the NYC area, we have six services available. Now what’s your excuse?

Now aside from Sunday’s being what I strive to be a peaceful day for me, February has been a month full of me trying to regain stability, tranquility and peace. So I decided the only way I would be able to find a peace of mind would be through seeking God first and entering into a season of fasting and praying. I’ve entered a season in my life where my future will consist of me making drastic changes and having to take major leaps of faith in order to get to next chapter of my life. Well that’s not easy, I’ve been facing many moments consisted of me feeling up, down, happy, sad and it has taken quite a toll on me.

I’m tired of living the hamster wheel lifestyle. You know, the same thing different day type of lifestyle. Now don’t get me wrong, my life is far from mundane, but when you know what you’ve been called to do in life, you grow eager trying to attain all that God has given you a glimpse of and you begin battling this annoying thing in life called patience.

So in order to keep my sanity in tact and to continue to make each moment of my life unforgettable I do what I know best. I continue to keep my eyes focused on all the promises God has revealed to me. I want to live a life worth living, and I dare you to do the same.

Now if you didn’t know, fasting is a lifestyle, it’s not just reserved for Lent.

Fasting is a moment of sacrifice and spending your days in prayer and worship and becoming more intimate with God. It’s also a time for you to ask God to strengthen you and share with God your prayer requests. As long as your living, there is always something that your heart desires, whether that be a peace of mind, a new job or simply wanting to grow and mature spiritually and emotionally. This is also a time that will cost your convenience and comfort, and will also take serious commitment, but what in life doesn’t require all of these things?

I challenge you today to trust God, build an altar and lay your sacrifice to the Lord. I challenge you to step out of your comfort zone and explore the unknown territory’s that surround you. As long as you are human, you are always striving to attain something honorable in life. Don’t wait for Easter to do what God calls us to do throughout our days of living, devote yourself to God and watch the transformation that comes your way.

Leave a Reply

