Flourish Baby Flourish

Image

“How will you go about finding that thing the nature of which is totally unknown to you? The things we want are transformative, and we don’t know or only think we know what is on the other side of that transformation. Love, wisdom, grace, inspiration- how do you go about finding these things that are in some ways about extending the boundaries of the self into unknown territory, about becoming someone else?”
– Rebecca Solnit

It’s a new year y’all!!! A new season of opportunity, growth and adventure! One thing I’ve noticed this year (well last year) is the lack of New Year’s resolutions people have created for themselves. Now I completely understand the annoyance behind the whole “new year, new me” motto that gets thrown around as we begin to approach the end of the year, I have to turn my ear whenever I hear the same old saying, so trust, I sense your frustration. But, to all those other people who truly like to stick to a goal that includes personal growth and change, what goes wrong every year that we suddenly forget about the transformation that we set out to achieve for ourselves?

As a full time student I completely understand how difficult it can be to stick to a goal of maintaining a healthy diet or hitting the gym more often, but after all of these years I finally realized that shedding a few pounds of fat probably wouldn’t happen if I didn’t allow my mind to be cleansed of 365+ days of continuous thoughts that began with “I can’t'”. Now for me, weight loss is the last thing I’m focused on as a New Year’s resolution but it may be for some. My goals for this year are to focus on my career and to continue to get lost in the unknown. Yes, I said to get lost! Sounds crazy but after spending years of my life living in a shell and being the introvert that I can be I lost out on many opportunities because I was afraid to take a risk. For someone who is full of faith no one could get me to take a leap out on anything unless I knew there was a safety blanket waiting to catch me if I were to fall, that my friends, is not living life to its fullest.

I picked up reading as a hobby again a few months ago (I know, how could I have ever stopped, don’t judge me) and I found a little gem written by Rebecca Solnit which is now my keepsake. This book “A Field Guide to Getting Lost” is a must read. For those of you who are struggling to step out and take a chance in life, I believe this book will give you a great supply of conviction. That boring mundane life your living will truly have an awakening after the first page. I found that the more I sat around doing the same thing over and over again I was playing it safe and in result continued to feel vexation towards the life I was living, but then, I began to feel challenged every time I turned a page and then I stumbled across this quote that I have fixated in my brain and as a reminder to live life on the other side of fear. “Leave the door open for the unknown, the door into the dark. That’s where the most important things come from, where you yourself came from, and where you will go.”

Taking a chance means to step into the unknown, to live in the mystery of what life has to offer. How will you go about in life finding what is on the other side of fear?   Allowing your spirit to lead you where your trust is without borders and having David like faith to start facing your Goliath’s. Whether your New Year’s resolution is big or small, dieting or starting a new career how will you allow yourself to step into the unknown and extend the boundaries of the self into places you never thought of? I challenge everyone out there to starting living and stop existing. Who cares about all the memes floating around Instagram, clowning those who thought of having a New Year’s resolution. Let this be your year, a year that you can look back to and say “damn, I was on top this year” let your actions speak louder than the thoughts of those who thought you wouldn’t be able to accomplish what you set out to do. Always remember, transformation doesn’t happen overnight so have patience, enjoy and savor every moment of the day that you contribute to working on you.

…. So now, what’s your New Year’s resolution?

6 thoughts on “Flourish Baby Flourish

  1. Pingback: Soul Food Sunday’s: To Read, Or Not to Read | Minaa B.

Leave a Reply

